jump to navigation

Gimme More Collard Greens Mutha Fucka September 27, 2007

Posted by whatpushesmybuttons in asshole of the day, celebrities, common sense, critique, current events, eating, food, new york city, opinion, politics, restaurant, stupidity, world news.
trackback

So y’all heard by now Bill O’Reilly done said some racist things in the past few days.

If you haven’t heard, O’Reilly was having dinner with Rev. Al Sharpton up at Sylvia’s, which is a soul food restaurant in Harlem (one of the best soul food restaurants around).

O’Reilly was quoted saying “couldn’t get over the fact that there was no difference between Sylvia’s restaurant and any other restaurant in New York City. I mean, it was exactly the same, even though it’s run by blacks, primarily black patronship.”

O’Reilly continued “You know, I mean, everybody was — it was like going into an Italian restaurant in an all-white suburb in the sense of people were sitting there, and they were ordering and having fun. And there wasn’t any kind of craziness at all,”

O’Reilly even added: “There wasn’t one person in Sylvia’s who was screaming, ‘M-Fer, I want more iced tea.”

Now I don’t know what types of restaurants O’Reilly has been in before with black folk, but its plainly clear he was out of touch. What did he expect, people to be climbing all over the seats, swinging from the chandeliers, stealing food off each other’s plates? I mean bitch, this ain’t no Chuck-E-Cheese or IHOP, this is Sylvia’s. Soul Food at it’s finest. If you wanted chaos and people cursing at each other then you need to go to Popeye’s or the B-K up in Harlem. Then people be all up in ya grillz asking for change and throwing chicken bones around.

I mean I’m joking of course but you get my point. It’s crazy that someone in this day and age thinks it’s an “amazing thing” that a restaurant run by “blacks” and frequented by “blacks” can be just as “civilized” as a “white run restaurant”.

I mean, Bill…last time I checked you were a business guy and you surely know that “blacks” hold CFO, President, CEO, and other highly influential positions in business. Hell aren’t there special publishing features and media reports devoted to the top companies run by minorities? I can’t believe you’d be that out of touch with civilization that you think every establishment run by a “minority” is run like a zoo. Now granted there is your occassional exception or two but seriously man…I’m disappointed.


Yo bitch, where my collard greens at?

All I know is that I’m thinking about wearing a Bill O’Reilly costume for this Halloween. I’ll show up to Sylvia’s or some other “black run restaurant”. I’ll scream at the workers “yo, motha fucka, where the fuck my chitlins and collard greens at”. Everyone will have a good time and laugh. And then I’ll take off my costume and sit and enjoy my meal like a civilized human being.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to seek out some fried chicken for lunch. All this talk about it has put me in the mood for some finger lickin goodness!

Comments»

1. roger - September 27, 2007

amen brother amen

2. gary - September 27, 2007

haha nice…yeah that was a dumb thing for him to say…guess he doesn’t get out much!

3. howie - September 27, 2007

maybe he spends too many nights at Coyote Ugly.

What does he expect from a restaurant?

Good call on the chucky cheese.

4. dan - September 27, 2007

haha funny idea for halloween, hopefully you don’t get shot doing it! 😉

5. ethan - September 27, 2007

Yankees Suck! Yankees Suck!

6. Mr. Blogger - September 27, 2007

yeah he just set back race relations another 10 years…good job.

7. trent - September 27, 2007

oh man that chicken looks Finga lickin gooooooddddd

8. candice - September 27, 2007

hahaah….i’m cracking up at the photo of O’Reilly…perfect caption for it!

hahahaha.

9. The Bagel of Everything - September 27, 2007

I’m sure they all settled down and stopped slinin’ pooh when they recognised Mista Riley comin the sto’.
He shoulda went in blackface, got the real scoop.

Seriously, tho…O’Reilly is an asswipe.

10. whatpushesmybuttons - September 27, 2007

hahaha….bagel….nice.

Yeah…it’s like they called ahead and said “the white man’s coming we better be on our best behavior”.

11. jake - September 27, 2007

oh man…you guys are too much.

12. neil - September 27, 2007

i still can’t believe he said that shit…

you were spot on in your criticism of him. good work!

13. Strange Brew « Ration Reality - September 27, 2007

[…] Runner up in Bill Bashing: What Pushes My Buttons with Gimme More Collard Greens Mutha Fucka […]

14. keywork - September 27, 2007

Have you guys seen the tv ads for Buffalo Wild Wings? Check them out. Parody awaits. Like redoing one of those ads for Sylvia’s.

15. Chris - September 27, 2007

keywork: you mean with the waitress who trips and catches the wings? If so oh totally. We can invite Ted Danson to appear blackface in the commercial…that’ll be sure to hit a nerve. Actually it’s along the lines of Dave Chappelle’s Nigga Please cereal commercials…those get me every time.

16. janet - September 27, 2007

I’m not touching this topic with a ten foot pole!

17. keywork - September 27, 2007

I was thinking about the one where the alarms go off and everyone has secret panels to hide in and the whole place is empty by the time the “boss” walks in.

18. chris - September 27, 2007

hmm…haven’t seen that one yet…i’ll have to check their website to see if it’s on there

19. lauriekendrick - September 28, 2007

CJ, you fat back and black eyed pea eating bastard!!

In a strange way, I think–I said I THINK I can understand the very general premise Billy was trying to convey. He just did it all wrong.

Assholes are everywhere. Lurking in every class of people with al different kinds of skin color and money in their bank accounts. White men don’t have the market cornered on the dubious title either. IN the past couple of years I’ve seen an tremendous growth spurt in Black assholes….Hispanic Assholes. Zionist Asshole. Christian fundamentalist assholes..Asians…Brits (definitely Brits) and too many Arabs and Muslims to count.

Oh yeah..and OJ, too.

LK

20. Soylent Ape - September 28, 2007

Definitely O.J.. Just ‘cuz he’s full of citrus goodness, he thinks he can get away with anything. Got news for ya, Juice: Johnny Cochrane’s dead!

21. chris - September 28, 2007

LK: Yeah…I understand what he was trying to say…he was stereotyping based on a past experience. Can’t say i completely blame him though…although I think his timing and choice of words were, as they say on the McNeil/Lehrer hour, WRONG!

Plus I’m pissed because he is a Marist alum and is giving us a bad rap.

22. chris - September 28, 2007

Ape: is it safe to say the juice has been “squeezed”?

Thank you thank you.


Leave a Reply

