jump to navigation

Paranoia Paranoia July 13, 2007

Posted by whatpushesmybuttons in celebrities, critique, current events, eating, food, humor, music, new york city, opinion, pedestrian behavior, photos, pictures, random references, video, world news.
trackback

“Everyone is coming to get me…”

Everyone knows that catchy song by Harvey Danger. Well I’ve been going through my own fits of paranoia recently, misplacing items like my wallet, or my keys…only to find them 5 minutes later in the last place I put them. So I can definitely empathize with the guy on the bus this morning (I took the bus down to work today since I have my golf clubs with me – and actually the bus was pretty painless for a change…only 40 mins door to door!). Anyway this guy sitting across from me kept looking over at me with this sly smirk on his face. It was an “I hate you, you bastard, going to play golf while I’m stuck in the office” kinda look. Only the joke is really on him since a)I dress casually going into work now (shorts and flops) b)I’m only going to the driving range – tomorrow.

Anyway after staring at me in a fit of jealous rage for the better part of 20 minutes or so he gets off the bus. Thankful to have his glare off me I was able to enjoy listening to my IPod, which I haven’t listened to in a good few months. No more than 5 minutes later the same guy comes running on the bus frantically. He runs to his seat and starts searching around. I didn’t see him drop anything. He looks at me like I took something. I just shrug my shoulders as he checks hi and lo like a maniac. Everyone on the bus is staring at him and he starts cursing: “Motherfucking sonofabitch. Fuck!”

On one hand I was amused since who doesn’t laugh at a person in a frantic state. But I did feel bad for the guy. He was in complete and utter disarray. Feeling helpless and unsure. I’ve been there 100 times…so I could empathize. Although the only thing that popped in my head was the “Paranoia Paranoia” song. If only I had that on my IPod.

Wait…lo and behold…I got it! Sweet!

Anyway, now that the “self-imposed embargo” is over, wanted to share some video and more pics of the Pizza Hut P’Zone Eating Challenge that took place on July 10th.

Here is video of the first minute or so of action.

The contest was basically over after the first bite, but the funny part is Tim Janus trying to coach her on some eating style after Chestnut basically finished his P’Zone in 60 seconds and she was still nibbling away on the first half. That and the unintentional comedic genius of George Shea who was narrating the contest.


The contest ready to start


Marivic trying desparately to keep up with Joey


Ladies and Gentlemen, your P’Zone eating champion!

Comments»

1. roger - July 13, 2007

i hate when that happens..you do feel so hopeless! must have been worth a chuckle though!

man…joey’s a monster!! that’s crazy. he devoured that shit!

2. Mr. Blogger - July 13, 2007

that p’zone didn’t have a chance in hell!

3. dan - July 13, 2007

hah…love the picture of Marivic with the food in her mouth…that’s a look of desparation if i’ve ever seen one!!!

4. howie - July 13, 2007

you think kobayashi was thinking in that pic “boy i could smoke both this guys!”

5. ethan - July 13, 2007

Yankees Suck! Yankees Suck!

6. bob - July 13, 2007

ha nice pics…good “action” shot!

7. cdp - July 13, 2007

I always laugh at people in frantic states.

Is Joey Chestnut single?

8. chris - July 13, 2007

CDP: According to his myspace page he’s in a relationship…but if you were the suitor, how could he resist? 🙂

Howie: yeah…either that or he’s like damn pizza hut for making me be here…i’d rather be getting a massage in some japanese massage parlor right now.

9. trent - July 13, 2007

nice…motherfucking sonofabitch….if you think about it, he was saying he fucks his mother, and she’s a bitch! haha

10. elyse - July 13, 2007

oh trent…always insightful! 😉

11. cdp - July 13, 2007

Hmm. Are we sure this was not my ex?

12. chris - July 13, 2007

ha…well the guy appeared to be in his early 50’s…very dishelved…looked like one of the “Bob’s” in office space

The one on the right…

Is that your ex??? 😉

13. cdp - July 13, 2007

I’d say yes, but I’m pretty sure The Ex can’t tie a tie.

It’s hard to do that when you don’t have opposable thumbs.

14. EatFeats (competitive eating news and database) » P’Zone Challenge pictures & video - July 13, 2007

[…] A video of Tuesday’s P’Zone Challenge is available at http://youtube.com/watch?v=f7O9b8HtpdM WhatPushesMyButtons.com also has a video and pictures. […]

15. chris - July 13, 2007

haha…nice…here jinxy cat…i love you jinxy cat.

Jinxy cat is a house cat Focker…he lacks the opposable thumbs to survive.

good stuff cdp…thanks for the guffaw…chuckle…laugh.

Sorry…i’m completely delusional today…think i need a bottle of Patron and a sound proof room with rubber walls to cure myself.

16. cdp - July 13, 2007

I heard that. I just spent about 41 of the last 48 hours writing a brief I hoped to get done before I went to Amelia Island (you know, the vacy that The Ex has decided he won’t be able to “babysit” for); and then was informed that guess what? Opposing counsel is giving us another two weeks to file that. Good. So I’m not packed or ready in ANY other way for vacation to commence in less than 24 hours, I have no one to keep my little angels during said vacation, I’ve got a shit ton of laundry, cleaning, packing, etc to do, and I’ve just wasted two days for no reason. Pardon me while I go stick razor blades in my fucking eyelids.

Patron you say? Bottoms the fuck up, friend.

17. chris - July 13, 2007

oy…good luck with that…

i’ll be sure to cheers you before shot #1 goes down…should be about 7:30pm EST. 🙂

18. cdp - July 13, 2007

Ditto. Here’s lookin’ at you, kid. And may I not be able to see straight come about 9:00pm EST.

Because, you know, that would be a good thing when I climb into The Boyfriend’s plane in the morning for a two hour flight.

On second thought, maybe I’ll just stay home and get drunk for a week.

19. video - August 11, 2007

interesting really 🙂


Leave a Reply

