jump to navigation

The Cuteness Factor June 6, 2007

Posted by whatpushesmybuttons in animals, critique, dogs, funny, humor, opinion, photos, pictures.
trackback

Some of the top visited websites in the world these days are animal picture sites. The one in particular that everyone seems to go to is I Can Has Cheezburger.com

null

The site is basically a cat lovers feast, with pictures and captions of people’s favorite feline friends. I personally am more of a dog guy than a cat guy…but cool cats can be cool, and this site tends to showcase pictures of cats putting themselves in precarious positions. Although honestly, I don’t like the captions. I think it’s stupid and cheezy. I know that’s probably the point of the site but still…I don’t think cats, if they could talk, would speak in broken english like the site suggests. You’d expect the cat to be articulate and calculating with their words, much like their wary and cautious personalities. Not with a dumbed down “which way did he go, which way did he go” sense of personality. So personally I don’t like the site. Is it tongue and cheek? Probably. But honestly, just show me pictures of the damn cat and I’ll decide my own caption.

How would that work you ask? Well just look at The Daily Puppy.

null

The site is just pictures of puppies. A new set of pictures uploaded everyday. Nothing but cute, adorable puppies. No stupid headlines like “I canz eatz da cheezburgerz???” are placed on the pictures. Just the pictures of the dogs and the stories behind the puppies. Plus instead of one picture, the owners normally upload dozens of pictures of their dogs. Personally, I think that’s the way an animal website should be done. Let me make my own captions without some idiot telling me what to think in broken english.

Anyway, in the spirit of showcasing your pets…while I don’t have a pet of my own (just yet – will have one soon though!), I am an uncle of an American Eskimo named Max.

null

null

null

I’m also a “step-uncle” for an English Bulldog named Vegas.

null

null

null

See, you can showcase your pets without captions. Let that be a lesson to I Can Haz Cheezburger! The battle of showcasing animal websites goes to the Dogs!

Comments»

1. candice - June 6, 2007

OMG sooooo cute!!!!! I love those labs!!! Your ‘nephews’ are pretty handsome too 😉

2. trent - June 6, 2007

I agree…just show the damn pics without captions…its like those people who put stupid captions in their photo albums…hate those.

3. ethan - June 6, 2007

Yankees Suck! Yankees Suck!

4. janet - June 6, 2007

I’m a cat person myself but have to say that the Daily Puppy is a much better site…i don’t like those captions either…too cheezy

5. dan - June 6, 2007

Dogs rule!!!!

6. gary - June 6, 2007

cats suck…no loyalty…flaky personalities…dogs are much better pets.

7. ben - June 6, 2007

i agree gary…although a cat is a bit easy to take care of than a dog….especially since they can shit in their litter box and you don’t have to worry about rushing them outside 🙂

8. tiffany - June 6, 2007

cute doggies!!!!! you must be a proud uncle!

9. elyse - June 6, 2007

OMG the pics of the bulldog are hysterical!!!!!!!!!! sooooo adorable!

10. roger - June 6, 2007

cool dogs man…i agree…dogs over cats.

11. melanie - June 6, 2007

awwwww….look at the puppies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

12. nelson - June 6, 2007

those labs are gonna be big…look at their paws! thanks for talking about these sites…i didn’t know either one of them existed!

13. nincompoop - June 6, 2007

Make no “bones” about it…Daily Puppy is the best animal site out there!

14. nelson - June 6, 2007

needless to say they put the “Cheez” in “I can has cheezburger”!

15. bob - June 6, 2007

oh boy…here we go! haha

Looks like that site isn’t “The Cats Meow?”

16. mr. blogger - June 6, 2007

“I don’t think cats, if they could talk, would speak in broken english like the site suggests”

haha..yeah…are they implying on the site that all cats speak russian? lol

17. whatpushesmybuttons - June 6, 2007

Nincompoop/Nelson/Bob…ok…that’s enough.

Mr. Blogger…haha…yeah, right? In that case every cat would be named Drago!

For the record I do think cats would be more articulate speakers than dogs…especially since cats are finicky eaters. They eat product like “Fancy Feast” and eat “upscale” food like salmon and tuna. Just look at Morris, he was very articulate during his commercials for Nine Lives. Plus they spend most of their lives indoors and can read books and dictionaries during the day.

Not saying dogs wouldn’t be articulate…but they’d probably have more of a street vocab since half their time is spent outside. Plus dogs don’t get fed product like “Fancy Feast” to help improve their education. Dogs are less thinkers and more doers. They’d rather rip a book to shreds rather than carefully paw at the pages.

That’s why dogs are cooler than cats. They’re the “cool kid” in school who rather play outside than sit and stare out the window all day.

18. madge - June 6, 2007

hahaha….nice explanation…fancy feast…LOL!

19. bethany - June 6, 2007

haha…love the rational between cats and dogs! i’m a cat person myself, but you do have a good point. can’t argue that one…dogs are “cooler”! 🙂

20. anonymous - June 6, 2007

Cats are lazy….just like their owners!!!

21. jake - June 6, 2007

Booooo…..Hissssss! haha

22. sandra - June 6, 2007

I’m melting….look at those faces!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

23. cathy - June 6, 2007

I normally would choose a cat over a dog any day…but those puppies are soo damn adorable!!!!!!!

24. melanie - June 8, 2007

i keep looking at those labs over and over again! i need to get one!!!

25. jessecuster - June 27, 2007

Chris-

Oh my god. Skewered. Wow. I mean, the blood, the gore. It splattered everywhere.

I may shit my pants lest you ’skewer’ anything I’ve written.

It’s just … wow. What venom. What bile. What brutal vitriol. You didn’t just skewer, you flayed. It’s not hard to see what makes you the kingmaker in the blog scene. When you make a point, you really hit hard. It’s like a punch right in the gut.

Your writing style, your mastery of the language and your sardonic wit combine to make me tremble…

… with barely suppressed laughter at your case of click-envy.

26. chris - June 27, 2007

Ha…the “kingmaker in the blog scene”….i like that one! may have to adopt that in my “quotes” I’ve received from my adoring press”.

btw…if you want to laugh, check out rationreality.com and the latest post on the books that exist. good stuff…especially the art of giving your own blow job book!


Leave a Reply

