jump to navigation

You call this a chicken cutlet??? February 24, 2007

Posted by whatpushesmybuttons in eating, food, humor.
trackback

So today I was walking from my apartment to my office to fill out my paperwork for my taxes and get me some money from the gubrment. I stopped at a normally dependable deli, Murray Hill deli on 34th and lex. Has a good selection of sandwiches and salads, etc…a decent lunch spot. I resisted the urge to stop at a bar for lunch, but in hindsight i should have. Anyway, I asked for a chicken cutlet on a roll with muenster cheese lettuce and tomato. I walked away and the guy behind the counter asked me if I wanted mustard. I said no, muenster. We had a laugh and I thought we were cool. I ventured to get a drink and picked up some chicken noodle soup. I came back got my sandwich and ventured to my office.

I had the soup which was very good, nice and salty. Tender chicken, fresh noodles. I unwrapped the sandwich and took a bite. I chewed. And chewed. And it tasted like rawhide. Like a dog chew toy…it had the same consistency. And yes I’ve chewed them before ;). I opened up the sandwich and the chicken wasn’t even chicken. It was like dried out pieces of wood. Stringy wood. Terrible. Beyond chewy…it was like having a beef jerky. Even better, guess what was missing from the sandwich…the muenster cheese. After all that. Bastard. And he charged me for it too.


The so-called “chicken cutlet”

So, so disappointing, considering chicken cutlet is one of my favorites. Needless to say on a saturday, stick to a bar for fresh food not a deli. Or have them hand carve the cutlet and fry it in front of you so you know it’s fresh. The paninis looked like they were left over from Wednesday so I stayed away, and likewise i’m sure the tuna or chicken salad wasn’t made that morning either. But still…next time, if i want rawhide I would’ve asked for it. Without mustard. Or muenster.

Comments»

1. Anonymous - February 26, 2007

Dude…what the hell is that? Ain’t no fried chicken that’s for damn sure.

2. Kenny - February 27, 2007

Basil that tastes like shit.

It is shit Austin.

3. Roger - March 1, 2007

Is that chicken? Or is that fish? Cause it says chicken of the sea. Seriously dude, that shit looks F*cked up. Maybe they used those rats from Taco Bell.


Leave a Reply

